Region 1 Newsletters

Below are downloadable newsletters produced by our Region 1 Leadership highlighting activities, news and other information relevant to the NJ Chapter.

Download the Newsletters

Meet our APA Region 1 Leadership

Angela Vincent has dedicated her professional career to community and environmental planning. She is currently the Northeast/Mid-Atlantic Regional Director at ICLEI – Local Governments for Sustainability (ICLEI). Vincent works with the 200-plus local government members in the region to find local solutions to reducing their carbon footprint by implementing measures to reduce emissions and develop more sustainable communities. She was also a Senior Regional Planner at the Nashua Regional Planning Commission. Vincent focused her work on providing land use, environmental, and energy planning tools and resources issues for the 12-member region.

Debbie Lawlor has more than 30 years of planning experience. She has been the chief of sustainability and economic growth, chief planner, and supervisor of land use planning at the New Jersey Meadowlands Commission. She also worked in the private sector at Edwards and Kelcey, Inc., and PQA Engineering. She has been active in APA’s New Jersey Chapter and the APA Regional and Intergovernmental Planning Division. She received the chapter’s Distinguished Service Award in 2009. She has participated in the New Jersey Governor’s Smart Growth Task Force and Rutgers University Center for Green Building Advisory board. She has has a BS in environmental planning and design and an MA in geography, both from Rutgers.

Lauren McKim is a second year planning student at the Edward J. Bloustein School of Planning and Public Policy at Rutgers University. She is focusing her graduate studies in real estate and housing. Prior to beginning her graduate degree, Lauren spent three years working in commercial property management in Washington, DC. While in DC, she was an active member of the Washington District Council of the Urban Land Institute and was a Vice Chair of the Education Committee within its Young Leaders Group.

Note: Photo credits and bios from